Early voting underway in Troup County

Published 6:42 pm Monday, November 26, 2018

By Alicia B. Hill
The LaGrange Daily News

Early voting for the Georgia general election runoff began on Monday, and while the hotly contested governor’s seat has finally been decided, the seat as Brian Kemp’s successor for secretary of state is up for grabs along with a public service commissioner spot.

The actual runoff election will take place on Dec. 4, but residents wishing to vote early can do so by appearing in person at the Troup County Board of Elections and Registration Office on the first floor of 100 Ridley Avenue. Early voting takes place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  Monday through Friday.

Email newsletter signup

Only two positions will be on the runoff ballot in Troup County. Brad Raffensperger (R-Johns Creek) and John Barrow (D-Athens) are on the ballot for secretary of state. In the November election, Raffensperger received 1,906,588 votes (49.09 percent) to Barrow’s 1,890,310 votes (48.67 percent) state wide. Libertarian candidate Smythe Duval received 86,696 (2.23 percent) of the state-wide vote and will not be on the runoff ballot.

Incumbent Chuck Eaton (R-Atlanta) and Lindy Miller (D-Decatur) are running for public service commissioner for district 3. Eaton received 1,917,656 votes (49.70 percent) to Miller’s 1,838,020 votes (47.63 percent) statewide during the November election. Libertarian candidate Ryan Graham received 102,878 votes (2.67 percent) of the state-wide vote and will not be on the runoff ballot.