Winners honored in Joy of the Holiday contest at Bradshaw Library

Published 9:43 am Friday, December 29, 2017

VALLEY — Bradshaw-Chambers County Library recently held its Joy of the Holiday art, poster and writing contest with over 15 individual winners and over half a dozen honorable mentions.

This annual event featured works from all area students from preschool to grade 12.

This is the 15th year for the program.

Email newsletter signup

“The quality and creativity of the entries we have had this year, they just blow my mind,” said Kati Behrens, program director. “I am amazed all the time at the creativity you guys [the assembled children] have.”

The first event winners were for the 3rd through 6th grade posters.

Winners were Lauren Levens, first place; Kolton Hull, second place; and Maranda Thompson, third place. Lacie Chandler was an honorable mention.

The next group were 7th through 12th grade posters.

Winners were Bailey Morrison, first place; Ava Brown, second place; and Kinsley Thomas, third place. Savanna Bryant and Jordan Thompson were honorable mentions.

The last division in the poster category was for groups.

First place went to Ms. Letson’s 1st grade class from Fairfax Elementary. Second place went to Ms. Flanary’s 3rd grade class from Fairfax Elementary. Third place went to David Johnson, Kolton Hull, Kinsley Taylor, Owen McQueen and Xzavious Crim.

Short stories were recognized next. Entrants were to create a work of fiction themed around the “Joy of the Holiday Season.”

Behrens said this was a hard category to judge because the entries were so creative and always brought smiles to the judges’ faces.

The stories featured such things as: a rabbit who directed a Christmas play; turning children into goblins; a girl who saw Santa and a mind eraser; Frosty, Rudolph and the elves’ perfect Christmas; and mice who don’t believe in Christmas.

Winners were Laura Dawn Letson, first place; Greenlee Dabbs, second place; and Anna Belle Letson, third place. Honorable mentions were Lacie Chandler and Eli Rudd.

The last category was art. Participants were asked to use any medium to create a work of holiday art.

For the first division, 2nd through 5th grade, winners were Lisa Henderson, first place; Dawson Moore, second place; and Gabriel Bonifacio, third place. Honorable mention was Yujin Jang.

For the second division, 8th through 12th grade, winners were Sarah Marberry, first place; Drew Strickland, second place; and Hazel Floyd, third place. Yujung Jang was an honorable mention.

Behrens thanked all the participants for entering in and announced her retirement.

“I loved working with all of you,” she said. “I’m going to miss you all so much.”