West Point swears in city officers

Published 10:08 am Tuesday, January 9, 2018

WEST POINT — The City of West Point swore in and elected new city officers during a business meeting Monday.

Starting off, recently elected mayor Steve Tramell was sworn in alongside new council members Alanteo “Henry” Hutchinson, Joseph R. Downs III and Gloria Ramsey Marshall.

The council also elected new city officers.

Email newsletter signup

Council member Sandra Thornton was elected as Mayor Pro Tem to serve a 1-year term until a successor is elected and qualified.

Wesley Leonard was appointed as a municipal court judge after being nominated by Ben Wilcox.

Gerald Ledbetter nominated Kenneth D. Rearden as municipal court assistant judge. He was elected unanimously.

Mark Carlton was elected as municipal court prosecuting attorney after being nominated by Joseph Downs.

Council member Henry Hutchinson nominated Jeffery M. Todd as assistant municipal court prosecuting attorney, who was elected unanimously.

Luther Jones was nominated and elected as municipal court public defender by Gloria Marshall.

In other action, the council:

– Denied a rezoning request to change 214 Beallwood Dr. from R1 to R2

– Approved an amendment to the alcohol ordinance changing the number of seats available to serve alcohol from 50 to 30

– Approved the Harris County SPLOST Intergovernmental Agreement