Late qualifiers added to election cycle

Published 9:13 am Friday, February 16, 2018

There were some late qualifiers in the Democratic and Republican primary elections that will be taking place on Tuesday, June 5. The qualifying deadline was 5 p.m. CST on Friday, Feb. 9.

It should be an active campaign season.

One of the late qualifiers is Bryan A. Murray. He will be on the ballot as a Republican in the race for House District 38. Chambers County Commissioner Debbie Wood and Lee County resident Todd Rauch are also GOP candidates for the seat being vacated by State Rep. Isaac Whorton, who is running for the Place 2 judgeship in the Fifth Circuit. The winner of the Republican race will face Democrat Brian McGee in November.

Email newsletter signup

In the 5th Circuit race, Wharton is unopposed on the Republican side but will face Democrat Mike Segrest in November. Segrest is unopposed on the Democrat side. He’s the son of former Circuit Judge Dale Segrest. With the incumbent, Tom Young, retiring this year, the seat is open.

Steve Perryman of Valley, the incumbent judge in Place 3, has no opposition this year.

Two Democratic hopefuls will be squaring off for the 3rd Congressional District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives that’s presently held by Republican Mike Rogers. Mallory Hagan of Opelika, a former Miss America, is in that race along with Adia McClellan Winfrey. Rogers is unopposed on the Republican side.

One of the more interesting races locally will be for the office of Chambers County Probate Judge. Incumbent Brandy Easlick has qualified with the Democratic Party to seek reelection. LaFayette attorney Susan Harmon has qualified to oppose her in the Democratic side. On the Republican side, Valley City Council Member Paul Story has qualified to run for probate judge. Former Probate Judge Cary Baldwin resigned on the final day of qualifying to commit to another run for the office.

Several seats on the Chambers County Commission are up for election this year. District 5 incumbent David Eastridge has qualified to run in the Republican primary. He’s being opposed by Johnny Yates in the Republican primary.

District 3 incumbent Joe Blanks is seeking another term as a Democrat. James “Moto” Williams has qualified to run for that seat as a Republican. In District 6, Debra Riley and Bo Colley have qualified to seek the office as Republicans.

Chambers County Sheriff Sid Lockhart has qualified for another four-year term. He is unopposed on the Democrat side and will face Republican Chad Roberts in November.

Long-time State Sen. Gerald Dial is giving up his District 13 seat to run for Secretary of Agriculture and Industries. He has opposition on the Republican side from Cecil Murphy and Rick Pate.

Bob Fincher, the incumbent in District 37, has qualified for another term. He has no Republican opposition but he will face a Democratic opponent in November. Charlotte Clark-Frieson of Roanoke has qualified to run for the seat as a Democrat. District 37 includes much of Chambers County.

There’s another interesting race shaping up in race for the District 13 seat being vacated by Gerald Dial. Three candidates, Randy Price, Mike Sparks and Tim Sprayberry, have qualified to seek the seat as Republicans. The winner of that race will face Darrell Turner in November. Turner has no opposition on the Democrat side.

In other Chambers County races, incumbent coroner Jeff Jones will have a challenge from former Valley police officer Mike Cox in the Democratic
Primary. There is no Republican candidate in the race.

Two Republican incumbents, District Court Judge Calvin Milford and Clerk of Court Lisa Burdette, qualified for additional terms without opposition.

Incumbent Chambers County School Board member Jeffrey Finch has qualified for another term without opposition. LaShae Smith-Herring has qualified as a Democrat for the District 3 seat.