• 75°

MRS. MYRTICE R. McCORD

VALLEY — Mrs. Myrtice R. McCord, 98, of Valley, Ala. passed away on Sunday, March 18, 2018 at the Kindred Hospice in Columbus, Ga.

Mrs. McCord was born on August 23, 1919 in Dothan, Ala. She was preceded in death by her parents; her husband, Robert R. McCord; a daughter, Faye McCord; several brothers and sisters and other relatives.

She was a member of the Pine Forest Congregational Christian Church in Valley, where she was a very active member before her health declined.

She was affectionately known as “Granny” by all of her friends. She enjoyed her flowers, gardening, and baking her fourteen layer chocolate cakes.

Mrs. McCord is survived by her daughters, Kaye and her husband, Dr. Ronald C. Smith of Valley and Patsy Clark of Anchorage, Alaska; grandchildren Mark (Angie) Smith, Headland, Ala.,  Rhonda (John) Patton, Sylacauga, Ala., Beverly Thomas, Kentucky, Dixi (Steve) Amidon, Wasilla, Alaska, and Valarie Clark, Anchorage, Alaska; great-grandchildren Chelsey Smith, Headland, Ala., Bailee Smith, Headland, Anna Claire Patton, Sylacauga, Abigail Patton, Sylacauga and great great-grandchild Teri Thomas of Kentucky.

Funeral services will be held on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 10 a.m. EDT (9 a.m. Central time) at the Johnson Brown-Service Funeral Home Chapel in Valley with the Reverend Derrick Rutledge and the Reverend Phillip Camp officiating.  The family will be receiving friends at the funeral home Wednesday morning one hour prior to the service.  A graveside service will be held on Wednesday afternoon at 2 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. Central)  at the Dothan City Cemetery in Dothan, Ala.

Please visit her Memorial Tribute page at www.johnsonbrownservicefh.com to leave a condolence for her family, share a memory of “Granny,” or to light a Remembrance Candle in her memory.

Johnson Brown-Service Funeral Home of Valley is directing.