Chamber of Commerce honors junior ambassadors

Published 6:00 pm Tuesday, May 7, 2019

WEST POINT — Two Valley High School students received a new laptop and certificate from the Greater Valley Area Chamber of Commerce Tuesday night for their service to the community.

Garrison Brown, freshman, and Hannah Beasley, sophomore, were the leading community service volunteers in the Chamber of Commerce’s Junior Ambassador program for 2018-2019.

At the program end of the year dinner at Johnny’s New York Style Pizza in West Point, all of the junior ambassadors were treated to a meal. Brown and Beasley received a 14-inch touchscreen laptop computer donated by Kardoes Rubber, a Hexpol company, and the other by the chamber.

Email newsletter signup

Carrie Royster, marketing and events manager at the chamber, said the junior ambassadors volunteer throughout the year at chamber functions and community events. The junior ambassadors are seen mostly at events hosted by community organizations to represent the chamber.

The students receive points and community service hours which they can transfer over to their respective school and college applications. 

“It is really a well-rounded program,” Royster said.

This year, there are two winners because there was a tie for the number of hours completed. Royster said the two winners completed 40 hours of community service in nine months. The junior ambassadors meet once a month, which counts as one hour, but Brown and Beasley went above and beyond to represent the chamber this year.

“They were at pretty much every event offered this year by the chamber,” Royster said.

The junior ambassador program is under the guidance of the Chamber Ambassadors program.

Those ambassadors serve as goodwill representatives to enhance membership and community involvement, according to the Chamber’s website.

“They are known as the chamber’s public relations team and are highly visible throughout the Chamber of Commerce and the community,” the website reads.

The chamber is currently taking applications for next year’s program. To apply for the program, visit the chamber’s website.

The deadline to register is May 31. For more information, contact Royster at

The junior ambassadors for 2018-2019 were: Ava Brown, Savanna Bryant, Brandalon Rombokas, Jenna Fuller, Kandyn Oliver, Kaylay Keebler, Lauren Fuller, Areyonna James, Fenick Darden, Horace Willis, India Watts, Nyanna Masson, Amber Franklin, Courtney Easlick, Jack Brown, Jenna Bolton, Jesilyn Mabrey, Madeline Johnson, Meghan Tranqui, Mitchum Smith, Nathan Clark, Sarah Smith, TingTing Tsai, Garrison Brown, Hannah Beasley, Hazel Floyd, Hunter Standfield, Kenya McBride, Morgan Ammons, and Shelby Deloach.