22 have qualified for local elections in Troup County

Published 2:22 pm Wednesday, March 4, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The ballot for the May primaries in Troup County is going to be crowded.

As of 5 p.m. Wednesday, 22 candidates had qualified in 13 different positions with two days still left to qualify.

Several of the contested races involve Troup County School Board positions, which are all non-partisan. Frank Barnes and Ferrell Blair are running for District 2 on the Troup County School Board. Kirk Hancock, who currently represents District 2, is not seeking re-election. 

Email newsletter signup

In District 5, incumbent Cathy Hunt will be challenged by Tommy Callaway, who is retired.

In District 3, Nick Simpson is challenging incumbent Brandon Brooks.

In District 6, Tripp Foster, who runs a local tree care business, is the only candidate who has qualified.  Incumbent Joe Franklin had not yet qualified in District 6.

Three positions are also up for the Troup County Commission, and at the moment two are contested.

In District 4, former Probate Judge Donald Boyd is challenging incumbent Morris Jones. Both are running as Republicans.

In District 2, incumbent Ellis Cadenhead will be challenged by Ken Ragan, president of Ragan Grading and Septic Tanks, and the retired Andrew Moody Sr. Cadenhead and Ragan are running as Republicans while Moody is running as a Democrat.

Incumbent Lewis Davis, a Republican, is the only candidate qualified in District 3.

Sheriff James Woodruff will be challenged by law enforcement veteran Jeremy Bolt. Both are running as Republicans.

Business Manager Brandon Adams and Deputy Coroner Erin Hackley have qualified for the coroner’s position. Incumbent Jeff Cook is not running for re-election. Both are running as Republicans.

The only other currently contested race is for Judge of State Court. Wesley Leonard and Kyle Lovejoy have both qualified for that position, which is non-partisan. Current Judge Jeannette Little is not running for re-election.

Other positions are also not currently being contested, though that could change by Friday afternoon.

Probate Judge Debbie Wade is the only candidate currently qualified in that race.

Tax Commissioner Shane Frailey has qualified to keep his position and currently has no challengers and is running as a Republican. Solicitor General Sandra Taylor is the only candidate to qualify for solicitor general so far. She’s running as a Republican. Candidates have through Friday at 5 p.m. to qualify. 

The primary election is May 19.