A look at who has qualified for the Aug. 25 election ahead of the July 21 deadline

Published 7:00 am Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Qualifying for candidates in the Aug. 25 municipal elections ends at 5 p.m. EST on Tuesday. The field of candidates for races in Valley, Lanett and LaFayette is just about set.

Valley’s list of candidates hasn’t changed since last week. Leonard Riley is unopposed for mayor. There’s a contested race in District 1, where incumbent Jim Clark is facing a challenge from Bo Colley. Long-time incumbent Jim Jones is unopposed in District 2, Also unopposed thus far are incumbents Randall Maddux in District 3, Marquetta Madden in District 4, Henry Cooper in District 6 and Jimmy Gilson in District 7. Cassie Carlisle, the incumbent in District 5, is not seeking re-election. Kendall Andrews is the lone candidate to announce thus far in that district.

Lanett will see a repeat of the same mayor’s race seen four years ago. Incumbent Kyle McCoy is facing a challenge from Stanley Roberts, a former council member. There’s a crowded field for the District 5 seat currently held by John Motley. Tifton Dobbs and Tony Moffett have qualified to run for that seat. John Motley was recently appointed to serve the remaining term of his mother, Shirley Motley, who died several weeks ago. 

Email newsletter signup

Incumbents who have qualified without opposition thus far include Tony Malone in District 1, Jamie Heard in District 2, Charles Looser in District 3, and Angelia Finley Thomas in District 4.

Incumbents qualifying for new four-year terms on the Lanett City School Board include Gwen Harris-Brooks in District 1, Katie Walton in District 2, Tony Edmondson in District 3, David Gagnon in District 4 and Gail Holley in District 5.

“We are getting close to the end of qualifying,” LaFayette City Clerk Louis Davidson said Monday. “We could have lots of qualifying today and tomorrow.”

Qualifying ends at 5 p.m. CDT on Tuesday in LaFayette.

The incumbent mayor, Barry Moody, qualified late Monday evening. There are currently four candidates for the office. They include Barry Moody, Brandon Brooks, Anna Troxell and Kenneth Vines. 

Terry Mangram and Emily Milford have qualified to seek the seat for District A. At the time of writing, incumbent Neal McCurdy had not qualified.

Four incumbents have qualified for new terms in District B, C, D and E. They include Charlotte Blasingame in District B, Toney B. Thomas in District C, Michael Ellis in District D and Tammie B. Williams in District E. Blasingame has opposition from Shannon Hunter and Andrew Vines in B and Ellis has opposition from Patricia Davis in D.