Tarver and Smith named finalists for end of the season awards

Published 5:24 pm Wednesday, December 27, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

After dynamic seasons, Chambers Academy’s Luke Tarver and Ryan Smith have each been selected as finalists for end-of-the-season awards from the ASWA. 

Tarver has been named as a Back of the Year finalist for the Alabama Independent School Association. 

Tarver was a key part of the Rebels’ run to the state championship this past season. The junior finished the season with 1,755 rushing yards, 26 touchdowns, and he averaged 11.6 yards per carry and averaged just over 146 rushing yards per game. 

Email newsletter signup

Tarver has been nominated as a finalist for the award alongside Glenwood’s Dallas Crow and Lowndes Academy’s Clayton Hussey. 

Smith has been nominated as a finalist for Lineman of the Year in the AISA. Smith was Chambers Academy’s leader on the defensive line, and he made first-team All-State as a defensive lineman. 

On the season, Smith had 38 solo tackles, 14 assists, nine tackles for loss, five sacks and two interceptions. Smith also came away with a pick-six in the championship game against Banks Academy that all but sealed the game for the Rebels.
The finalists alongside Smith are Fort Dale Academy’s Jon Nolan and Patrician Academy’s Jay Lindsey. Smith and Lindsey went head to head in the semifinals in a matchup that the Rebels won 38-2. 

The winners of the awards for the AISA and each classification in the AHSAA will be announced on Jan. 16 at a banquet at the Montgomery Renaissance.