Don’t forget to vote Tuesday

Published 5:13 pm Monday, March 4, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The day has arrived to vote in the local and national primary elections. On Tuesday, March 5, polling precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. local time. For Valley and Lanett, that’s 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET, and for the rest of the county, that’s 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. CT. 

Winners will move on to November’s general election.

However, some candidates will be running unopposed after the primaries, adding to the importance of Tuesday’s races. 

Email newsletter signup

The primary presidential candidates will also be on ballots, as will other statewide races. In Chambers County, three local races are competitive Tuesday: Chambers County School District superintendent, the CCSD District 1 board seat and probate judge. 

Here’s a look at each ballot:

Democratic ballot

To vote for the District 1 school board candidates, Valley voters must use the democratic ballot. District 1 opponents Jeffery Finch, the incumbent, and Frederick “Reco” Newton are both running as Democrats. This race is only for those living in District 1. 

The Democratic presidential candidates are Joe Biden and Dean Phillips. You can also vote uncommitted on both ballots. Voters will also vote for no more than four delegates for the 2024 Democratic National Convention, Third Congressional District, based on their presidential vote. 

For Biden, the delegate candidates are Jeremy Gray, Pam Howard, Kyle Pierce and Ciara Smith. For “uncommitted,” the delegate is John Squire. 

Republican ballot

Both Chambers County School superintendent candidates are running on the Republican ballot. To vote for Incumbent Casey Chambley or Sharon Weldon countywide, voters will need to ask for the Republican ballot. 

Winford Ashmore is running unopposed as a Democratic candidate in the superintendent election. Whoever wins the primary election for the Republican candidate will run against Ashmore in the general election.

Probate judge candidates Troy Davis and incumbent Paul Story will also be on the Republican ballot countywide.

Donald Trump will be on the Republican ballot for president, opposed by Nikki Haley. U.S. Representative, Third Congressional District, candidates are Barron Rae Bevels, Bryan Newell and Mike Rogers. 

There are additional national elections on the ballot for Republican candidates. 

Sarah Stewart and Bryan Taylor are running for Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The candidates for Court of Civil Appeals Judge, Place 2, are Chad Hanson and Stephen Davis Parker. Rich Anderson and Thomas Govan are the candidates for the Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, place 2. Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh and Robert McCollum will be on the Republican ballot for Public Service Commission president.